Certified copies of New Hampshire vital records can be obtained from any New Hampshire Town Clerk for documents issued within certain date ranges: Births – 1985 to present; Deaths – 1990 to present; Marriages – 1989 to present; and Divorces – 1988 to within 6 months of current date. Certified copies for events prior to these dates must be secured directly from the New Hampshire Town Clerk where the event occurred, or for marriages, the New Hampshire Town Clerk (or Court, for divorces) where the original license was obtained.
To obtain a certified copy of a vital record, you must have a direct interest in the record (for yourself, mother, father, step-parent, foster parent, grandparent, child, step-child, spouse, brother, sister, aunt or uncle). The charge for a record search is $15.00 by NH State law, whether a record is found or not. If the record is found, this fee covers the issuance of one certified copy of the record. Additional copies ordered at the same time for the same record are $10.00 each.
A request may be made in person or by mail and must include the name(s) as shown on the certificate, the date of the event, the purpose for which the certificate is requested, and your relationship to the person(s) on the document. Click here to access the Vital Record Request Form that must accompany any request by mail; you may also choose to complete this before your visit to Town Hall if you will be making your request in person. Please note our office uses the standard State of New Hampshire request form; however, you should mail or present your request to our office: New Castle Town Clerk, PO Box 367, 49 Main Street, New Castle, NH 03854. A copy of your driver’s license, passport, or some other official photo identification is required. Payment must be made in the form of check or money order made payable to the Town of New Castle; or if making the request in person, payment may be made in cash – do not mail cash. Debit/credit cards are not a payment option.